NPP Delegates Nailed Only Female MP In Brong-Ahafo To The Cross


Yamfo, Ahafo Region, January 29, 2024.

Delegates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Tano North Constituency of the Ahafo Region have nailed Dr. Freda Prempeh to the cross at her own funded and newly constructed durbar ground at Yamfo. 

They could not retain, but ousted Dr. Prempeh, the prominent Member of Parliament (MP) for the area in the NPP Parliamentary Primaries.

The Bono, Ahafo and Bono East Regions have 29 Constituencies and Dr. Prempeh, also the Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources was the only NPP female MP.

Dr. Prempeh represented the Constituency in Parliament since 2012, however, hundreds of delegates and supporters of the NPP in the Tano North believed it’s enough and ousted her.

They kicked her out after 12 years in Parliament for Dr. Boako to continue, thereby lost her bid to be re-elected as Parliamentary Candidate for the Tano North Constituency.

Surprisingly, the delegates nailed Dr. Prempeh to the cross painfully at her own funded and newly constructed durbar ground at Yamfo and took to the street amidst music and brass band.

She lost by 221 votes to Dr. Gideon Boako, the Technical Advisor and Spokesperson for the Vice President Bawumia, who secured 444 votes.

The delegates overlooked the numerous socioeconomic and infrastructural development projects for the Constituency during her three terms.

Her community developmental projects which cut across water projects, electricity, roads, sustainable livelihoods improvement initiatives, employment opportunities and the humanitarian supports for particularly females and individual youths.

Others included sanitation, modern toilet facilities, health and durbar grounds were ignored by the delegates

In further development, other female MP’s were also sacked by delegates in the Eastern Region.

They includes Madam Gifty Twum-Ampofo, a Deputy Education Minister and incumbent NPP MP for Abuakwa North Constituency also suffered defeat with 202 votes.

The incumbent MP for Juaben Constituency, Madam Ama Pomaa Boateng, a Deputy Minister of Communications and Digitisation also lost by 120 votes to Mr Francis K.B. Owusu Achiaw, who had 334 votes.

Madam Barbara Macara Maccugen who contested the Fanteakwa North seat was also defeated.

In the Lower West Akyem constituency, Madam Grace Akosua Amoabeng, a successful businesswoman and deputy communications director for NPP Loyal Ladies, unfortunately lost the contest.

Only two women successfully secured their positions in the primaries in the Eastern Region to represent the NPP in the upcoming 2024 general elections.

They are Mrs Lauretta Korkor Asante, the Deputy Director of Social Security and National Insurance Trust (SSNIT) who would represent the Atiwa West Constituency and Mrs. Abena Osei-Asare, the Deputy Finance Minister and current MP for Atiwa East Constituency.

Writer’s email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *